Poetry Reading and Art Exhibit: Burnished Light on Water

image of burnished light on water post cadr

Burnished Light on Water

Join me for my fifth annual poetry reading and art exhibit, “Burnished Light on Water: Reflections in Evening Light”. I’ll read new poems inspired by evening light and reflections and an exhibit of paintings and photographs.

About My Annual Poetry Reading and Art Exhibit

In December, 2006, two of my poems were chosen to be published on a section of the Prairie Home Companion website entitled “Stories From Home/First Person” for submissions of writing about the place we feel most familiar. I’m a long-time listener to PHC and reader of Garrison Keillor’s books as well as a daily listener to The Writer’s Almanac featuring news about writers and writing and of interest to writers as well as a poem, all compiled and read by Keillor himself. I was astonished to find my poems were among the first chosen for “Stories From Home/First Person” from apparently thousands, and so happy to be able to share them with a potential audience of so many similarly inclined writers and readers.

The first poetry reading in February 2007 was the vision of Maggie Forbes, Executive Director of the Andrew Carnegie Free Library & Music Hall, and I owe her many thanks for encouraging me to present this combination of my visual and literary art, a first for me. It must have gone well because I’ve been invited back each year since then. What a pleasure and honor, every year, to be invited to share the collected thoughts, inspirations and images of my past year at my beloved public library.

Review Other Readings

pastel painting of a spring morning

Spring Comes to a Bend in the Creek, pastel © B.E. Kazmarski

Visit these links to review prior poetry readings:
2010: Coming Spring
2009: Change of Season
2008: Winter Twilight
2007: Paths I Have Walked

Also visit the writing section of my website to read more of my writings.

Here are a few of the exhibits you’ll see

photo of building details

Of Harps and Fig Leaves, photo © B.E. Kazmarski

These two photo exhibits are currently on display in the Reception Hall where the poetry reading will be held:

Of Harps and Fig Leaves: Photographs of Andrew Carnegie Free Library & Music Hall

Carnegie Photographed Photo Exhibit

Art of the Watershed

pastel painting of dusk in the woods

Dusk in the Woods, pastel © B.E. Kazmarski

As part of my first poetry reading and art exhibit, I exhibited “Dusk in the Woods”, depicting a very real scene along Robinson Run and the Panhandle Trail in Collier Township, a place I go for fun and inspiration on a regular basis. From this piece was born the idea of “Art of the  Watershed“, a series of four large and detailed paintings depicting each of the seasons somewhere in the Lower Chartiers Watershed featuring characteristic scenery and one of the streams in the watershed. Why the “watershed”? Because for years I’ve worked closely with various organizations to conserve, protect and enjoy this watershed, and sharing my vision of its beauty helps to further that cause.

Art of the  Watershed

Date, time, place

Thursday, January 27, 2011, 7:00 p.m.
Andrew Carnegie Free Library & Music Hall

Visit the ACFL&MH website for directions and information about the facility.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Poetry Reading and Art Exhibit: Burnished Light on Water « What's New in Bernadette's Studio? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

