Two-color Design for Course Catalog

cover of course catalog

Good old two-color design.

Once full-color printing became affordable, no one wanted to use spot colors anymore—but for about half of my career as a designer, that’s what we had to design with. Creating an attractive one-, two- or three-color layout is still a challenge, but one I welcome. Much as I love color, I enjoy the simple clarity of spot colors.

page 7 of program

My photo of bellydancer with course descriptions and layout elements.

For this catalog of classes offered by a municipality, I was given a Word document with all the descriptions and charts, though I had to do a little rearranging of text.

The customer provided some photos, I provided the rest from my disks of stock photos as well as from my own photos, and I feature the pages with my photos here.

I actually chose the color; knowing one would be black I choose one that would contrast well yet still be readable as text and also work for halftone photos.

All those years of designing junk direct mail paid off because I knew that for a fall-themed publication “warm red” would be perfect. It’s dark enough to handle text and images, but still light enough to contrast with the black. It’s not really red but a red-orange, termed “warm” to distinguish it from “rubine red” which can look like a dark magenta.

program page with kayakers

My photo of kayakers on Chartiers Creek with programming schedules.

You can see a version of the publication on the Municipality of Monroeville website, though it’s a lower-resolution proof from the printer so it’s not crisp and the pages all have crop marks in the corners. Still, you can look through the layout.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Two-color Design: Monroeville Program Book « What's New in Bernadette's Studio?

Leave a Reply

