I’m a Featured Artist on Dharma Trading Website

hand-colored linoleum block print

The Goddess, hand-colored linoleum block print © B.E. Kazmarski

linoleum block print of leopard

Yes? hand-tinted linoleum block print © B.E. Kazmarski

I’ve been creating linoleum block prints for years; I’ve always found something appealing in the stark black and white of solid ink shapes on paper, and then the variations of ink colors and paper types. I’ve always enjoyed making prints, too, and linoleum block prints are just about the easiest to do.

Years ago when I wanted to “print” my own holiday cards I designed a few simple cuts. I returned through the years with other ideas, mostly involving my cats as I love their silhouettes, my designs growing more elaborate and detailed, and I added color both in the inks and in the work itself, hand-coloring each print with watercolors.

Then I realized that I could print on fabrics thereby opening a whole new world of possibilities, and, realizing how popular T-shirts are, I began printing on tees along with other textiles.

Like the rest of my block prints, I usually print these in sets of six and sign and number each shirt just as I do the prints on paper that I sell as wall art. Each tee is a work of art, just as the framed prints are. The tees you’ll see on the Dharma site aren’t all the block prints I create, though, only the ones I print on tees.

Visit this page on the Dharma Trading e-newsletter site to see the designs published and read my explanation of how I came to print the tees and how I came to use Dharma Trading for purchasing my tees and other textiles.

Visit the Feline Block Prints page on my website to see other designs that I’ve printed on paper as well as tablecloths, curtains, placemats and a host of other things.

Visit “What’s New in Bernadette’s Studio?” to read more, or visit this page on the Dharma Trading e-newsletter site to see the designs published and read my explanation of how I came to print the tees and how I came to use Dharma Trading for purchasing my tees and other textiles.

You can read about them on my Marketplace blog in the article Unique Block-printed, Hand-painted T-shirts!

And you can always go to the Block-printed T-shirts page in my online Marketplace.

I highly recommend them for their huge selection of just about every garment blank imaginable (an a few unmentionables as well), their friendly and extremely helpful staff and their choice to purchase fair trade garments and fabrics when items are imported. Not only their selection of garments is huge, but the other materials they offer as well—all types of dyes along with clear instructions about best usage, plus materials for tie-dye, batik, hand-painting and any other way you can think to decorate fabric. I’ll be printing aprons and tote bags, soon, too, and I can’t wait to go shopping!

8 comments

  1. I’ve seen this a bit lately – linocut print on fabric. I’m wondering if you know anything about how long the print lasts, that is, through washings? Is it a different ink from the usual Speedball oil based block ink?
    I dig the cats – especially the tortoise shell fella.

    • REALLY enjoyed my visit to your blog, great way to start the day! I noticed an entry on lost artwork of Lincoln, and it’s not the same thing but I just framed and hung an exhibit of “100 photographic portraits of…”, originally the collection of photojournalist Stephan Lorant and now in the hands of Pittsburgh Photographer Norman Schumm. You can read about this in an earlier entry on this blog, “https://whatsnewinbernadettesstudio.wordpress.com/2010/02/10/aspects-of-lincoln-exhibit-at-andrew-carnegie-free-library-music-hall/”. This month we will also be installing a traveling exhibit of Lincoln artwork from the Smithsonian in the same room. My local public library, and one of my favorite places, has a newly-restored GAR post and a resident company of re-enactors who care for it. Find that entry and link to the Carnegie Carnegie (yes, our town was named for him; he had his steel mill here…ask if you want to know more).

      I also saw a reference to Lincoln and Obama in one of your posts, and I also wrote a poem beginning with Lincoln and ending with Obama after that election which I read at last year’s poetry reading; it’s the last poem on this page, called “The Mystic Chords of Memory”, http://www.bernadette-k.com/ChangeofSeason/index.html.

      And as for the linocuts on fabric, they are way fun! I print on everything, some things I make, some things I purchase. Thinner fabrics work a little better, and sheer fabrics look as if they are embedded with the ink instead of it being printed on the fabric. I use Speedball oil-base ink to make sure it lasts, and did a number of test washings and wearings with my “test prints”, printed on old shirts and stuff so I could abuse them. I designed the two tortie girls about ten years ago, and the test prints I began using and washed in regular cycle with cold water are just a little faded in the ink, though the dye has nearly faded away. You can actually use the water-base ink because it’s a Latex and is waterproof when it’s dry, but it doesn’t last as long. I’m trying to balance the use of a petroleum-base product with a product made in part from rainforest trees cut down for latex…

      Thanks for visiting! Glad to meet you!

      • Mark E

        Hey thanks for the kind words about ‘Papawheelie’s Notebook’
        My writing is more about wordplay and fun. I have been reading the BIography of Abe Lincoln by Carl Sandburg. the early years are great. I am just getting into the two volumes on the war years. Over the last year I did a bunch of Lincoln inspired images (mostly humorous), also inspired by the whole link to Obama.

        I may try some lino cut prints on fabric. I recently finished a skater print, inspired by Apollo Anton Ohno. I’m undertaking a collaborative project with my siblings, having each cut a print (maybe 4″ x 4″) and then print all together on a large sheet. Should be interesting!

      • Well keep us up to date on these projects on your blog! I’m going to look up more of those Lincoln images.

  2. Mark E

    (I don’t know why it is not showing me logged in as Papawheelie?)
    anyway, here is a link to a post with a couple of the more whimsical Lincoln images.
    http://papawheelie.wordpress.com/2010/01/21/politics-as-usual/
    and yet another
    http://papawheelie.wordpress.com/2009/11/25/the-lost-prints-of-abraham-lincoln-a-fitting-tribute/

    there are actually ‘Transfer Drawings.’ Ink a plate (or in my case, a 12″ x 12″ uncut linoleum pieces, unmounted). Let set a few minutes. Carefully place a piece of paper (medium to light weight) over it. Draw on back of paper to ‘lilft’ the ink up and onto the opposite side. It is a very exciting and spontaneous, somewhat mono-print technique that is not used enough. YOu can scrape the surface of the ink to get interesting texture prior to drawing. Check it out!
    http://papawheelie.files.wordpress.com/2009/11/big-hole-in-the-water.jpg?w=500&h=493
    http://papawheelie.files.wordpress.com/2009/11/black-hole-2.jpg?w=240&h=180

    • I never know with these blogs–I commented regularly on one that no longer recognizes me, though it tells me my username is taken. I just work around it.

      Neat Lincoln images and really interesting stories. I think you’re heavily influenced by a combination of Pablo Picasso and Paul Klee–the images look like doodles but you can always go deeper and deeper into them. I like your transfer drawings, too–it’s almost like using carbon paper, but backward. Really interesting perspectives! This is what keeps things moving in our society, innovative ways of expressing ourselves. I’m glad you’re putting it out in the public. I especially like “Politics as Usual”…when did doing good become bad?

      I’m still pulling for Obama and think he’s on the right track as a consensus builder; I really felt a change in energy when he was elected and that’s why I wrote the poem I referenced moving from Lincoln to King to him. It’s good to know you’re out there.

Leave a Reply

